TOLL FREE: (0800)133133

Eng. James N. Kasigwa

( Secretary, NSC )

Eng. James N. Kasigwa is the Executive Director of Uganda National Bureau of Standards (UNBS) effective 13th May, 2024.

Eng. James N. Kasigwa is an Electrical Engineer who has had an illustrious career with multinational corporations, private and public sectors spanning over two decades in leadership, and strategic management of expert teams in Science, Technology, Innovation, Standards and Infrastructure Industry.

He holds a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Makerere University, a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering, and Master's of Science degree in Telecommunication from London South Bank University, London, United Kingdom, and a Master’s degree in Business Administration from ESAMI.

Prior to joining UNBS, Eng. Kasigwa served as the Director Science, Technology, Innovation Regulation & Biosafety at the Ministry of Science Technology and Innovation, Uganda. He also served as the Commissioner ICT Infrastructure Development at the Ministry of ICT & National Guidance.

Eng. Kasigwa’s other outstanding responsibilities include;

  • Focal Point Person for Uganda at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) (2010 - 2018)
  • Registered Engineer with the Engineers Registration Board 
  • Member, Uganda Institution of Professional Engineers (UIPE)
  • Member, Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  • Chairman of the Senior Officials of the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA)
  • National Chairman of Uganda Scientists, Researchers & Allied Workers Union
  • Chairman of the Special Technical Committee on Education, Science and Technology (STCEST) of the African Union
  • Co-Chair of the AU-EU High Level Policy Dialogue (HLPD) on Science, Technology & Innovation;
  • National Coordinator of the Uganda National Space Science & Technology Program aiming at leverage Space for attainment of the SDGs and the National Development goals.
  • Founding Member of the African Development Satellite (AfDevSat) Project.
  • Founding Member and Vice President, ISACA Kampala Chapter (2009-2011)
  • Member of Rotary International, Muyenga Tank Hill Club