National TBT/SPS committee | UNBS
A+ A A-

National TBT/SPS committee

National TBT/SPS committee

Uganda is a founder Member of World Trade Organization (WTO) and therefore a signatory to the Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) and the Agreement on the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS).

A number of ministries and agencies are responsible for the administration and implementation of the TBT and SPS Agreements. Between 1995 and 2003, there was no mechanism in place to coordinate ministries and agencies responsible for the administration and implementation of the two Agreements as well as a forum for consulting the private sector that are affected by the provisions of the Agreements.  The National TBT/SPS Committee was established in 2004 to provide a coordination mechanism on TBT and SPS matters at national level.

UNBS is the Chair and Secretariat of the National TBT/SPS Committee while Private Sector Foundation Uganda is the Vice Chair.


Objectives of the National TBT/SPS Committee

Member Organizations

Social Media Links


  • Last Modified: Monday 23 March 2015.

Contact Us

Plot M217 Nakawa Industrial Area
P.O.Box 6329 Kampala
Tel.: +256-414-505995 ,+256-414-222369, 0800133133 TOLL FREE
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

blue green orange red

Copyright © 2012 UNBS. All Rights Reserved.


Log in to your account or


User Registration
or Cancel